VDMA Study Product Piracy 2020

Shutterstock

Description

Every two years, the VDMA conducts a study on product and brand piracy among its member companies. Since 2003, reliable figures and information have thus been collected in order to give a picture of the threat posed by plagiarism, counterfeiters and copiers in our industry. The necessity of the survey among the members is shown by the large proportion of companies affected. The damages estimated by the companies go into the billions every year, for the German mechanical and plant engineering industry alone.

The most important results of the VDMA study Product Piracy 2020 at a glance:


- 74 percent of companies in the mechanical and plant engineering sector are affected by product piracy (2018: 71 percent). For companies with more than 500 employees, the rate is even around 90 percent. The threat of product and brand piracy is thus reaching a new all-time high.


- Compared to the last studies, the perceived threat shows a clear trend reversal: After a steady decline, with an increase of around 40 percent, 52 percent of those surveyed are now in favour of an increase in the threat level.


- The estimated loss in the 2019 sales year was 7.6 billion euros, an increase of 300 million euros compared to the 2018 study. The average loss for affected companies was 4.9 percent of annual sales.
- The loss of 7.6 billion euros corresponds to around 35,000 jobs (2018: 33,000).


- The People's Republic of China undisputedly leads the list of countries distributing counterfeit products with 61 percent. Germany follows in second place by a large margin (19 percent), followed by Russia (12 percent).
- For 72 percent of the companies, the competitor is considered the cause of the plagiarism. However, an alarming 42 percent of those surveyed also say that at least one of their business partners (customers, suppliers, joint venture partners, spare parts sellers) is a plagiarist.


- Among the infringements of property rights, unfair copying is again in first place with a clear 58 percent. Second place is shared by the infringement of trademark and patent rights with 39 percent each. The infringement of trademark rights, design and utility models thus falls significantly behind the last study.


- Counterfeit products are a verifiable security risk: 36 percent of companies report that counterfeit products pose a danger to operators or users. An alarming 57 percent of those questioned see a danger for the safe operation of the system in the case of the plagiarism they have discovered.


- In 64% of cases, individual components remain the most frequent plagiarism. Close behind are design plagiarisms in second place with 60 percent. In around 40 percent of cases, whole machines, spare parts or so-called "soft" plagiarism (catalogues, brochures, product photos) are the target of counterfeiting.


- In cases of plagiarism, the means of choice is to enforce the applicable rights first out of court and then under civil law. However, about half of all companies affected do not take any action at all. This is particularly true for small and medium-sized enterprises, where two out of three companies do not take any measures.

Downloads

VDMA Studie Produktpiraterie 2020

Shutterstock

Die neueste VDMA Studie "Produktpiraterie 2020" ist ab sofort verfügbar

Der VDMA führt alle zwei Jahre eine Studie zum Thema Produkt- und Markenpiraterie unter den Mitgliedsunternehmen durch. Bereits seit 2003 werden somit verlässliche Zahlen und Informationen gesammelt, um der Bedrohung durch Plagiate, Fälscher und Kopierer in unserer Branche ein Bild zu geben. Die Notwendigkeit der Erhebung unter den Mitgliedern zeigt der große Anteil an betroffenen Unternehmen. Die von den Unternehmen geschätzten Schäden gehen jedes Jahr, alleine für den deutschen Maschinen- und Anlagenbau, in die Milliarden.

Die komplette Studie finden Sie im Downloadbereich dieses Artikels.

Die wichtigsten Ergebnisse der VDMA Studie Produktpiraterie 2020 zunächst im Überblick:


• 74 Prozent der Unternehmen im Maschinen- und Anlagenbau sind von Produktpiraterie betroffen (2018: 71 Prozent). Bei Unternehmen mit mehr als 500 Mitarbeitern beträgt die Quote sogar rund 90 Prozent. Damit erreicht die Bedrohung durch Produkt- und Markenpiraterie ein neues Allzeithoch.


• Im Vergleich zu den letzten Studien zeigt sich bei der wahrgenommenen Bedrohung eine deutliche Trendwende: Nach einem stetigen Rückgang sprechen sich mit einer Zunahme um rund 40 Prozent nunmehr 52 Prozent der Befragten für eine Zunahme des Bedrohungsniveaus aus.


• Der geschätzte Schaden im Umsatzjahr 2019 betrug 7,6 Milliarden Euro und erhöht sich damit im Vergleich zur Studie von 2018 um 300 Millionen Euro. Der durchschnittliche Schaden für betroffene Unternehmen betrug 4,9 Prozent des Jahresumsatzes.
• Der Umsatzverlust von 7,6 Milliarden Euro entspricht rund 35.000 Arbeitsplätzen (2018: 33.000).


• Die Volksrepublik China führt unangefochten mit 61 Prozent die Liste der Vertriebsländer von Plagiaten an. Auf Platz zwei folgt mit großem Abstand Deutschland (19 Prozent), dann Russland (12 Prozent).
• Für 72 Prozent der Unternehmen gilt der Wettbewerber als Verursacher der Plagiate. Doch auch bei Geschäftspartnern (Kunden, Zulieferer, Joint-Venture-Partner, Ersatzteilverkäufer) geben erschreckende 42 Prozent der Befragten an, dass sich unter mindestens einem von diesen einen Plagiator befindet.


• Bei den Schutzrechtsverletzungen liegt der unlautere Nachbau wieder mit deutlichen 58 Prozent auf Platz eins. Platz zwei teilen sich die Verletzung von Marken- und Patentrechten mit je 39 Prozent. Die Verletzung von Markenrechten, Geschmacks- und Gebrauchsmustern fällt damit im Vergleich zur letzten Studie deutlich zurück.


• Plagiate stellen nachweisbar ein Sicherheitsrisiko dar: 36 Prozent der Unternehmen berichten von Fälschungen, die eine Gefahr für Bediener oder Anwender mit sich bringen. Erschreckende 57 Prozent der Befragten sehen bei den von ihnen entdeckten Plagiaten eine Gefahr für den sicheren Betrieb der Anlage.


• Häufigstes Plagiat bleiben in 64 Prozent der Fälle einzelne Komponenten. Dicht dahinter liegen auf Platz zwei Designplagiate mit 60 Prozent. In jeweils rund 40 Prozent der Fälle sind ganze Maschinen, Ersatzteile oder sogenannte „weiche“ Plagiate (Kataloge, Broschüren, Produktfotos) das Fälschungsziel.


• Im Plagiatsfall ist das Mittel der Wahl, die geltenden Rechte erst außergerichtlich und dann zivilrechtlich durchzusetzen. Rund die Hälfte aller betroffenen Unternehmen ergreift jedoch keinerlei Maßnahmen. Dies trifft vor allem auf kleine und mittlere Unternehmen zu, bei denen zwei von drei Unternehmen keine Maßnahmen einleiten.

Downloads